Map of New Haven County, Connecticut

New Haven County overview:
Name:New Haven County
FIPS code:09-009
Named for:New Haven Colony
Seat:none (since 1960)
New Haven (before 1960)
Total Area:862 sq mi (2,230 km²)
Land Area:605 sq mi (1,570 km²)
Total Population:864,835
Population Density:1,429.5/sq mi (551.9/km²)
Time zone:UTC−5 (Eastern)
Summer Time Zone (DST):UTC−4 (EDT)

New Haven County location map. Where is New Haven County?

New Haven County location on the U.S. Map. Where is New Haven County.
Location of New Haven County in the the United States.
New Haven County location on the Connecticut map. Where is New Haven County.
Location of New Haven County in Connecticut.


Following the process of unification of New Haven Colony with Connecticut Colony in 1664–65, cohesion could be improved. New Haven County was constituted by an act of the Connecticut General Court on May 10, 1666, along with Hartford County, Fairfield County, and New London County. The act establishing the county states:

As established in 1666, New Haven County consisted of the towns of Milford, New Haven, and Guilford. The town of Wallingford was established in 1670 in unincorporated area north of New Haven and formally added to New Haven County in 1671. In 1675, the town of Derby was established north of Milford. In 1686, the town of Waterbury was established, but was assigned as part of Hartford County. Waterbury was transferred to New Haven County in 1728. In 1722, most of northwestern Connecticut (except for the town of Litchfield) was placed under the jurisdiction of New Haven County. Eight years later, in 1730, the eastern half of northwestern Connecticut was transferred to the jurisdiction of Hartford County. By mid-1738, with the exception of the towns of New Milford, Sharon, and Salisbury, the entire territory of northwestern Connecticut was under Hartford County. In 1751, Litchfield County was constituted consisting of all the towns in northwestern Connecticut. Between 1780 and 1807, several more towns were established along the northern boundary of New Haven County, resulting in the alteration of the limits of the county. The final boundary alteration leading to the modern boundary resulted from the establishment of the town of Middlebury on October 8, 1807.

New Haven County Road Map

New Haven CountyStreet Map.
Street map of New Haven County, Connecticut. Source: OpenStreetMap (OSM)
New Haven CountyMap
New Haven Countypolitical map.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 862 square miles (2,230 km), of which 605 square miles (1,570 km) is land and 258 square miles (670 km) (29.9%) is water. It is the second-largest county in Connecticut by total area.


The terrain is mostly flat near the coast, with low hills defining the rest of the area, rising significantly only in the north of the county. The highest elevation is close to the northernmost point in the county, found at two areas of approximately 1,050 feet (320 m) above sea level in the town of Wolcott. The lowest point is sea level.

Notable geographic landmarks include Mount Carmel (“Sleeping Giant”), West Rock and East Rock.

Adjacent counties

New Haven county is bounded on the south by Long Island Sound.

National protected area

  • Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge (part)

New Haven County Topographic Map

Topographic Map of New Haven County, Connecticut
New Haven County Topo map.

New Haven County Satellite Map

Satellite Map of New Haven County, Connecticut
New Haven County satellite map.

New Haven County Outline Map

Outline Map of New Haven County, Connecticut
New Haven County outline map.

See also

Map of Connecticut State and its subdivision: Map of other states:
5/5 - (5 votes)