Map of Navajo County, Arizona

Navajo County (Navajo: Tʼiisyaakin Áłtsʼíísí Bił Hahoodzo) is in the northern part of the U.S. state of Arizona. As of the 2020 census, its population was 106,717. The county seat is Holbrook.

Navajo County comprises the Show Low, Arizona Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Navajo County contains parts of the Hopi Indian reservation, the Navajo Nation, and Fort Apache Indian Reservation.

Navajo County overview:
Name:Navajo County
FIPS code:04-017
Founded:March 21, 1895
Named for:Navajo Nation
Largest city:Show Low
Total Area:9,960 sq mi (25,800 km²)
Land Area:9,950 sq mi (25,800 km²)
Total Population:106,717
Population Density:11/sq mi (4.1/km²)
Time zone:UTC−7 (Mountain)

Navajo County location map. Where is Navajo County?

Navajo County location on the U.S. Map. Where is Navajo County.
Location of Navajo County in the the United States.
Navajo County location on the Arizona map. Where is Navajo County.
Location of Navajo County in Arizona.


Navajo County was split from Apache County on March 21, 1895. The first county sheriff was Commodore Perry Owens, a legendary gunman who had previously served as the sheriff of Apache County. It was the location for many of the events of the Pleasant Valley War.

Navajo County Road Map

Navajo CountyStreet Map.
Street map of Navajo County, Arizona. Source: OpenStreetMap (OSM)
Navajo CountyMap
Navajo Countypolitical map.


According to the United States Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 9,960 square miles (25,800 km), of which 9,950 square miles (25,800 km) is land and 9.3 square miles (24 km) (0.09%) is water.

Navajo County offers not only the Monument Valley, but Keams Canyon, part of the Petrified Forest National Park, and one of the largest contiguous ponderosa pine forest in North America.

Adjacent counties

Indian reservations

Navajo County has 6,632.73 square miles (17,178.7 km) of federally designated Indian reservation within its borders, the third most of any county in the United States (neighboring Apache County and Coconino County are first and second). In descending order of territory within the county, the reservations are the Navajo Nation, Hopi Indian Reservation, and Fort Apache Indian Reservation, all of which are partly located within Navajo County.

National protected areas

  • Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest (part)
  • Navajo National Monument
  • Petrified Forest National Park (part)

Navajo County Topographic Map

Topographic Map of Navajo County, Arizona
Navajo County Topo map.

Navajo County Satellite Map

Satellite Map of Navajo County, Arizona
Navajo County satellite map.

Navajo County Outline Map

Outline Map of Navajo County, Arizona
Navajo County outline map.

See also

Map of Arizona State and its subdivision: Map of other states:
5/5 - (4 votes)