Map of Union County, Kentucky

Union County is a county in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2020 United States census, the population was 13,668. Its county seat is Morganfield. The county was created effective January 15, 1811.

The county is located on the left (east) bank of the Ohio River opposite its confluence with the Wabash River. Union County, along with neighboring Posey County, Indiana, and Gallatin County, Illinois, form the tri-point of the Illinois-Indiana-Kentucky Tri-State Area.

Union County overview:
Name:Union County
FIPS code:21-225
Founded:January 15, 1811
Largest city:Morganfield
Total Area:363.38 sq mi (941.1 km²)
Land Area:342.85 sq mi (888.0 km²)
Total Population:13,668
Population Density:38/sq mi (15/km²)
Time zone:UTC−6 (Central)
Summer Time Zone (DST):UTC−5 (CDT)

Union County location map. Where is Union County?

Union County location on the U.S. Map. Where is Union County.
Location of Union County in the the United States.
Union County location on the Kentucky map. Where is Union County.
Location of Union County in Kentucky.

Union County Road Map

Union CountyStreet Map.
Street map of Union County, Kentucky. Source: OpenStreetMap (OSM)
Union CountyMap
Union Countypolitical map.


Union County lies on the northern border of Kentucky; its northwestern border is formed by the meanders of the Ohio River, abutting the states of Illinois and Indiana. The county terrain consists of frequent low wooded hills among the level areas, which are devoted to agriculture. Its highest point (673 feet (205 meters) ASL) is a rise in the Chalybeate Hills, in the Higginson-Henry Wildlife Management Area.

The John T. Myers Locks and Dam, authorized and constructed as Uniontown Locks and Dam, is located 3.5 miles (5.6 km) downstream from Uniontown, on the Ohio River, linking Union County and Posey County Indiana. Construction of the dam was begun in 1965 by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and completed in 1977. It was renamed on 12 October 1996, to honor retired Indiana congressman John T. Myers.

According to the US Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 363.38 square miles (941.1 km), of which 342.85 square miles (888.0 km) is land and 20.53 square miles (53.2 km) (5.6%) is water. Union County is part of the Western Coal Fields region of Kentucky.

Adjacent counties

Protected areas

  • Higginson-Henry Wildlife Management Area (state)
  • Moffit Lake Recreation Area (county)


  • U.S. Route 60
  • KY 56
  • KY 109


Census-designated places

Unincorporated communities

  • Bordley
  • Boxville
  • Caseyville
  • Cullen
  • Curlew
  • Dekoven
  • Grangertown
  • Grove Center
  • Henshaw
  • Pride
  • Spring Grove
  • Sullivan
  • The Rocks

Union County Topographic Map

Topographic Map of Union County, Kentucky
Union County Topo map.

Union County Satellite Map

Satellite Map of Union County, Kentucky
Union County satellite map.

Union County Outline Map

Outline Map of Union County, Kentucky
Union County outline map.

See also

Map of Kentucky State and its subdivision: Map of other states:
5/5 - (5 votes)